Noble Pig’s Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies


The very tasty finished product.

I’m not sure why this hasn’t already made it to the top of the foodie pyramid, as God knows, there was an entire quarter where I couldn’t attend a dinner party without someone bringing up chocolate covered bacon.

Makin' Bacon!

I made these cookies for a dear friend, Oscar, who is a serious baconophile.

Given that I was pretty confident that I wasn’t a culinary pioneer with this idea, I asked google for a recipe, and I found one, from an aptly named source: Noble Pig Vineyard & Winery. Their site is well worth a visit, as it’s full of recipes for things I really want to eat… I mean, make!

Their recipe is available here, and it comes complete with lots of tasty work in progress pictures.  (Yes, you have to look at their site to get the recipe, that’s only fair).

The dough

Our version required a few modifications. I’ve never seen maple smoked bacon in a UK supermarket. British bacon is different from American bacon in that it comes from the back, rather than the belly. So, we just used British bacon. We also couldn’t find maple extract, so I added a bit of maple syrup!

I could eat these all day. If they weren’t a gift, that plate would already be empty.

5 thoughts on “Noble Pig’s Bacon Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. As a pescalactoovo vegetarian, that sounds disgusting!!! Although, I am sure Oscar LOVED it. I’m happy to see you posting again.

    • I know… my language classes just don’t make for a good story. I don’t think anyone likes French grammar! I should get cracking on my ship in a bottle.

Leave a Reply

