Remembrance Day Poppies


One tradition I’ve observed here that I really like is the wearing of poppies on Remembrance Day.

In the weeks leading up to the 11th November  holiday, poppies like the one in the photo are sold by volunteers or available at store tills (registers) in exchange for a donation to veterans’ charities.

While writing this post, I read that similarly is done in the US, I have never seen it, really.

In England, however, seemingly everyone buys and wears one.  It’s nice to see so many people participating in this show of support for the members of the armed forces who have protected and continue to protect us.

One thought on “Remembrance Day Poppies

  1. I’ve always loved this as well, and have saved my poppies to wear over here in the US. In my experience few if any people observe this day; the bond markets are closed, as are the banks, but schools and most businesses are open. Seems Memorial Day is always a bigger deal here. Perhaps it’s because “the eleventh day of the eleventh month at the eleventh hour” is more poignant to the British people, having lost more in WW I. AMC is observing it with a day of military movies; I just finished watching “The Enemy Below” with the incomparable Robert Mitchum.

    Three things I always look forward to in November: the NYC marathon, the Cliffe / Lewis bonfires in Sussex, and Remembrance / Veterans / Armistice Day.

Leave a Reply

